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18. Email Address (optional)  									         19. Color Photo

APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL LICENSE

5. Name

6. Gender			   7. Height	 8. Weight	 9. Eye Color	 10. Hair Color	 11. Birthdate

  Male	   Female

12. Driver’s License Number	  	 13. Social Security / Taxpayer ID Number	

�� Type or print clearly in blue or black ink and provide an original signature.
�� All fees paid must be paid by pre-printed personal check, company check, cashier’s check, certified 

check, money order, or credit card (see form REA 2030 to pay by credit card)
�� By statute, all fees submitted are deemed earned upon receipt and cannot be refunded.
�� All out-of-state addresses require a completed and notarized Consent to Service of 

Process (REA 3006). 

�� Please refer to http://www.brea.ca.gov/html/LicensingFees.html for current license 
application fees.

�� If you have any questions please write to the address listed or call (916) 552-9000.
�� Mail completed application, fee and qualifying documentation to:

	 BUREAU OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
	 1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
	 Sacramento, CA 95811

Last  First				                              Middle

15. Mailing Address (Address of Record)

City County		               State	                            Zip Code

Address

16. Business Telephone Number		  17. Residence Telephone Number

14. Business Name

IMPORTANT

1.	 SIGN (on the back) 
of the 2” x 2” color 
photo of passport 
quality.

2.	 Staple HERE.

PART A - APPLICANT INFORMATION

1. Level of License for which you are applying

   Residential License	 $485   Certified Residential	 $535   Certified General	 $535
2. State of Issuance of License			   3. License Number		  4. License Expiration Date

20. Please Answer the Following Questions		    	

BREA USE ONLY

A.	 Have you previously submitted an application to BREA? 
  No	   Yes

B.	 Do you currently hold, or have you previously held a California Real Estate Appraiser license? 
  No	   Yes,   License Number   _______________________________________________

State

   Check this box if you are currently serving or have ever served in the United States military (Please submit proof of current or former military service).
   Check this box if you are married to, or are in a domestic partnership or other legal union with an active member of the United States military assigned to 

active duty in California (Please submit proof of marriage, domestic partnership, or other legal union with an active member of the military). 
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PART B - APPLICANT BACKGROUND INFORMATION

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing information, and information provided on all attachments, is true and correct and that I have 
answered each question fully and truthfully and without any purpose of evasion. I understand that providing false information is grounds for denial or 
revocation of any license and may subject me to disciplinary action and/or criminal prosecution.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature											           Date

BACKGROUND CHECK
The State of California requires that all applicants submit for a background check. California resident applicants must have their fingerprints taken 
at any participating LiveScan location using form BCII 8016. For a list of LiveScan fingerprinting locations, please visit: 

http://caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm
Non-California applicants must have their fingerprints taken on two FD-258 (Rev. 9-9-13) cards and should submit both with this application.

1.	 Have you ever used or been known by any name other than, or in addition to, the name listed on Part A  of this application? 
  No	   Yes,   explain   ____________________________________________________________________________

2.	 Are there criminal charges pending against you at this time, or are you currently awaiting judgment and sentencing following entry of a plea or 
jury verdict? If yes, please specify the court in which the matter is pending, the case number and charges, and submit a copy of the police report 
and a certified copy of the complaint and docket. 

  No	   Yes,   explain   ____________________________________________________________________________

3.	 Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal or civil offense in the United States, its territories, or a 
foreign country? This includes every citation, infraction, misdemeanor and/or felony, including traffic violations. You are not required to report 
convictions that were adjudicated in the juvenile court, convictions under California Health and Safety Code sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or 
section 11360(b) which are two years old, or traffic infractions resulting in a fine of $500 or less. Convictions that were later dismissed pursuant to 
sections, 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California law must be disclosed. If yes, complete “Conviction 
Details” section below. In addition to completing the “Conviction details” section below, you must submit a certified copy of the police report and 
certified copies of the complaint and judgment or the order. 

  No	   Yes,   complete “Conviction Details” below.

4.	 Do you currently hold a professional or vocational license issued by any governmental agency other than BREA? If yes, please identify the license 
held, the license number and the issuing agency. 

  No	   Yes,   explain   ____________________________________________________________________________

5.	 Have you ever had a professional or vocational license, certificate or registration denied, suspended, restricted, revoked, surrendered or disciplined 
in any way in this state or any other state? If yes, complete “License Details” section below. In addition to completing the “License Details” section 
below, you must submit a certified copy of the police report or administrative agency’s investigative report and certified copies of the court or 
administrative agency’s docket, complaint, or accusation and judgment or other order. 

  No	   Yes,   complete “License Details” below.

LICENSE DETAILS
Type of License License ID No. License Expiration Date State

Action (revoked, etc.) Date of Action Date Action Terminated Code Section Violated

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: ATTACH EXTRA SHEETS IF MORE ROOM IS NEEDED. EACH ADDITIONAL SHEET MUST BE SIGNED AND DATED.

CONVICTION DETAILS
Complete one line for each violation and provide explanation below. If you are unable to provide this information, provide all the requested information you can obtain, with 
an explanation for the missing information. If the conviction status has been subsequently changed or reduced, note that fact in the area provided for additional information. 
Attachments for additional information should specify which lines you are referring to. EACH ADDITIONAL SHEET MUST BE SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT. 

Court of Conviction
(Name and Address)

Arresting Agency
(Name and Address)

Date of
Conviction

Type of 
Conviction

* Code Section 
Violated ** Code Violated *** Disposition Case

Number
Example: Sacramento
Cnty. 456 Main St., Sac

Sacramento City Police
123 Main St., Sac 02/20/12 484 Penal Code 6 months probation

and $200 fine 1234

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: SPECIFY WHICH LINES YOU ARE REFERRING TO. ATTACH EXTRA SHEETS IF MORE ROOM IS NEEDED. EACH ADDITIONAL SHEET MUST BE SIGNED.

1.

2.

3.

  Felony           Other
  Misdemeanor
  Felony           Other
  Misdemeanor
  Felony           Other
  Misdemeanor
  Felony           Other
  Misdemeanor

X

* CODE SECTION VIOLATED (i.e., 1014, 484, ETC)   
** CODE VIOLATED (i.e., VEHICLE CODE, PENAL CODE, ETC.)   

***  DISPOSITION (i.e., PROBATION, PAROLE, FINE, PENDING, ETC.)
**** DISMISSED (pursuant to sections, 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the California Penal Code)

****Dismissed

  Yes       No

  Yes       No

  Yes       No

  Yes       No

X
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INSTRUCTIONS

PART A
1. 	 APPLICATION LEVEL - Mark the box for the level for which you 

wish to apply. Mark one box only. You may not apply for a license level 
higher than the level currently held in your issuing state.

2.	 STATE OF ISSUANCE OF LICENSE - Name of the state in which 
your current license was issued.

3.	 LICENSE NUMBER - Your current license number.
4.	 LICENSE EXPIRATION DATE - The Expiration date of your current 

license.
5. 	 NAME - Your name.
6.	 SEX -  Mark the appropriate box.
7.	 HEIGHT - Your height in feet and inches. Example: 5’ 8”
8.	 WEIGHT - Your weight in pounds. Example: 150 lbs.
9.	 EYE COLOR - Do not abbreviate.
10. 	HAIR COLOR - Do not abbreviate.
11.	BIRTHDATE - Your date of birth. (mm/dd/yyyy)
12.	DRIVER’S LICENSE NUMBER - Your driver’s license number, 

including the issuing state.
13.	SOCIAL SECURITY / TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER - 

Enter your social security or individual taxpayer identification number. 
BREA cannot issue a permit without a Social Security or Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number.

14. BUSINESS NAME - The name of your business or employer name. 
The information required is a matter of public record. 

15.	MAILING ADDRESS - Your address of record. 
The information required is a matter of public record.

16.	BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER - Your business telephone 
number. The information required is a matter of public record.

17. 	RESIDENCE TELEPHONE NUMBER - Your home telephone 
number.

18. EMAIL ADDRESS - Your email address.
19.	COLOR PHOTO - One color 2” x 2” photo of passport quality, of your 

head and shoulders only, is required. The photo must have been taken 
within the last 60 days. Sign and date (in ink) on the back of the photo. 
Staple on the space provided.

20. QUESTIONS -
	 A. Mark “yes” if you have previously submitted an application to BREA.

B. If you currently or have previously held a California Real Estate 
Appraisers license, mark “yes” and provide the license number in the 
space provided. 

PART B
	 1 - 5.  BACKGROUND QUESTIONS  - Answer all of these 

questions and attach any required additional information to this 
application.

	 BACKGROUND CHECK - California resident applicants must have 
their fingerprints taken at any participating LiveScan location using form  
BCII 8026. Non-California residents must have their fingerprints taken 
on two FD-258 (Rev. 9-9-13) cards and submitted with this application.

	 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT - Original signature and date required.

	 Privacy Information

Section 1798.17 of the Civil Code requires this notice be provided when 
collecting personal or confidential information from individuals. Each 
individual has the right to review personal information maintained by 
this Agency, unless access is exempted by law.

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers
Custodian of Records
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
Sacramento, CA 95811
Telephone: (916) 552-9000

General powers of the Chief, Sections 11310 and 11313 of the Business 
and Professions Code authorizes the maintenance of this information. 
Business and Professions Code Section 30, Chapter 1361, Section 1, 
requires each real estate appraiser licensee to initially provide to the 
Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers his or her social security number 
or individual taxpayer identification number which will be furnished 
to the Franchise Tax Board. Your social security number or individual 
taxpayer identification number shall not be deemed a public record 
and shall not be open to the public for inspection. The Franchise Tax 
Board will use your number to establish identification exclusively 
for tax purposes. The Real Estate Appraisers Law or Regulations 
of the Chief require applicants to provide the Bureau of Real Estate 
Appraisers with specific information. If all or any part of the required 
information is not provided, processing may be delayed. In addition, 
the Chief may suspend or revoke a license, or in the case of a license 
applicant, may deny the issuance for misstatements of facts (including 
a failure to disclose a material fact) in an application for a license. The 
information requested in this form is primarily used to furnish license 
status information to the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers, and to 
answer inquiries and give information to the public on license status, 
mailing addresses and actions taken to deny, revoke, restrict or suspend 
licenses for cause. This information may be transferred to real estate 
appraisal licensing agencies in other states, law enforcement agencies 
(City Police, Sheriff’s Departments, District Attorneys, Attorney 
General, F.B.I.), and any other regulatory agencies (included, but not 
limited to, Department of Business Oversight, Department of Insurance, 
Bureau of Real Estate, Department of Consumer Affairs, California Bar 
Association, Appraisal Subcommittee).
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