How Do I...
- How To Get Vaccinated
Learn more about how to get vaccinated by visiting the state’s COVID-19 website: https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated. The state’s website has information on vaccination eligibility, how to sign up for an appointment via MyTurn.ca.gov, local health jurisdiction resources, and more. Additionally, CVS, Rite Aid and Walgreen pharmacies now offer limited appointments for free COVID-19 vaccinations in select areas. Visit https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated for more information.
- On February 19, 2021, The Appraisal Foundation’s Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) announced the current (2020-2021) edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) will be extended by one year. This USPAP extension does not impact continuing education requirements including the requirement to take the 7-hour USPAP Update continuing education course every two years.
To read The Appraisal Foundation press release go to https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/share/view/sfc53c1a2d64f4151b0c789437aa99cf7 .
To read Frequently Asked Questions regarding the USPAP extension go to https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/share/view/s134ab2547a714a0688d30943f26a78d7 .
- Effective January 25, 2021, the Regional State at Home Order ended and the Bureau of Real Estate Appraiser’s physical location has reopened to the public. Click here for additional information regarding the Regional Stay at Home Order.
- Expedited Licensure for Refugees, Asylum Seekers, and Holders of Special Immigrant Visas
Starting January 1, 2021, individuals in the following categories who apply for licensure by the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers may seek an expedited licensure process.
1. Refugees pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;
2. Those granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the Attorney General of the United States pursuant to section 1158 of title 8 of the United States Code; or,
3. Individuals with a special immigrant visa that have been granted a status pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of title VI of division F of Public Law 111-8.
In order to receive the expedited licensure process, individuals must provide documentation of their refugee, asylee, or special immigrant visa status when submitting their application package. Please note that this does not mean a license must be issued, but simply that the process will be expedited.
Click here for information and documentation examples.
- The BREA newsletter for Fall 2020. Fall 2020
- California Governor Gavin Newsom has authorized new tax relief and grants to businesses impacted by COVID-19 restrictions. The Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers is encouraging licensees to determine their eligibility for relief, which includes Tax Relief for Businesses Impacted by COVID-19, $500 Million for New COVID Relief Grant for Small Business, and Increase Funding for the California Rebuilding Fund. For more information, read Governor Newsom’s news release or visit the Business and Employers section of the state’s COVID19.ca.gov website.
- The State Public Health Officer has designated a list of Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers to help state, local, tribal, and industry partners as they work to protect communities, while ensuring continuity of functions critical to public health and safety, as well as economic and national security.
- BREA recommends anyone wanting information on COVID-19 to check the California Department of Public Health for daily updates. Additionally, The Appraisal Foundation (TAF) issued Coronavirus and Appraisers: Your Questions Answered on Friday March 13, 2020. PSI Online, BREA's examination provider, has provided information on examination sites and rescheduling.
- Scam Alert (pdf)
Timely License Renewal
The Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (Bureau) mails out license renewal notifications to all licensees, six months prior to their expiration. The letter requests that renewals be submitted at least 90 days prior to the expiration of a license. This is due to the Bureau’s processing time. Though it may take the Bureau up to 90 days to process an application, it typically does not. Should a licensee delay submittal of the renewal application, the licensee may expire, and the licensee would be unable to practice appraising. The licensee will show up on the Bureau’s website as “Expired” and “InActive” on the Appraisal Subcommittee’s (ASC) website until such time as the renewed license is issued. Although the Bureau makes every effort to process renewal applications prior to expiration of the previous license, it is imperative that we receive renewal applications in a reasonable amount of time that allows for processing. In order to maintain an "active" listing of your appraisal license, please do not wait until a week or month before the expiration date to submit a renewal application and appropriate documentation.